Bees of Y Graig, Llantrisant (WARNING: this has nothing to do with coal tips)

With my growing reputation as the county’s resident ‘bee man’, I have been asked by Rhondda Cynon Taf Council to conduct a number of surveys in addition to my regular work on colliery spoil tips. One of the sites I’ve been asked to survey is Y Graig (or The Graig). For those that are somewhat familiar with the area, Y Graig is a mountain adjacent to the historic town of Llantrisant. The famous Billy Wynt tower (pictured below) is situated on the highest point of Y Graig. With a height of approximately 173m (568ft), Y Graig offers fantastic and far-reaching views across south Wales – a must-see if your in the area.

16354460698_bbacbc366d_o.jpg

Much of the mountain is south-west facing, and a number of footpaths transect the site. With the majority of our solitary bees showing a nesting preference for south-facing slopes, Y Graig could potentially hold a rather diverse bee fauna. This, has however, yet to be explored…but that’s where I come in.

After a morning of report writing, I decided to take advantage of a break in the weather to ‘scout out’ the site. Despite the sunshine, it was rather breezy. After some time walking around and having only seen one species of solitary bee, I was beginning to feel as though Y Graig would be a failure on the bee front. On top of the mountain, it was far too windy so I decided to head back down. Walking down the footpath pictured below, I noticed some nesting Halictus rubicundus (Orange-legged Furrow-bee).

IMG_20170412_145722830

This seemed like a good spot so I sat and waited for more bees to come along. Not long after being there, a female Sphecodes monilicornis (Box-headed Blood-bee) appeared, the cuckoo of  Halictus rubicundus.

Sphecodes_monillicornisF

Sphecodes monilicornis (Box-headed Blood-bee)

Then, a female Nomada lathburiana (Lathbury’s Nomad) appeared. Nomada lathburiana is the cuckoo of Andrena cineraria (Ashy Mining Bee), a species which I also recorded at Y Graig.

 

Several Nomada flavoguttata (Little Nomad Bee) were also observed searching for the nests of their hosts (which are mini-mining bees) on this footpath – so 4 species in just this small area!

Nomada_flavoguttata

Nomada flavoguttata (Little Nomad Bee)

The bee species list continued to grow as I followed the path downwards. By the time I got back to my car (around 2 hours after setting off), I had 15 bee species on the site list (and I could have added several more if I was a bit quicker with my net!). Here are a few pictures of some of the other bees I observed. It appears that Y Graig is a good site for bees, and repeated visits throughout the spring and summer may well reveal a decent bee list (lets hope so).

Enjoy the pictures.

 

Andrena_flavipesF

Andrena flavipes (Yellow-legged Mining-bee)

Andrena_fulvaF

Andrena fulva (Tawny Mining Bee)

Andrena_haemorrhoaM

Andrena haemorrhoa male (Orange-tailed Mining-bee)

Andrena_nitidaF

Andrena nitida (Grey-patched Mining-bee)

Bombus_sylvestris

Bombus sylvestris (Forest Cuckoo Bee)

Nomada_fabricianaF

Nomada fabriciana (Fabricius’ Nomad)

 

Leave a Reply

